Ligaments Of The Knee, ACL, PCL, and Collateral Ligaments.

Ligaments Of The Knee

Knee Anatomy: Four major ligaments stabilize the knee. The one on the inner side of the knee is called medial collateral ligament and the one on the outer side is lateral collateral ligament. The collateral ligaments give sideway stability to the knee.

The cruciate ligaments are the two ligaments that cross in the center of the knee. The ligament toward the front is the anterior cruciate ligament or ACL and the one toward the back is the posterior cruciate ligament (PCL). The ACL prevents forward movement of the lower bone (tibia) and PCL prevents the backward movement.

If the ACL gets torn, then the tibia can move forward too much leading to instability of the knees.

A new ACL can be made to correct this instability. The middle 3rd of the patella tendon is the strongest graft, which is available to replace the torn ACL. On one end this graft has a part of bone taken from the patella or knee cap and on the other end it has a part of bone from the tibia. These parts of bone provide solid fixation of the graft.

Team PainAssist
Team PainAssist
Written, Edited or Reviewed By: Team PainAssist, Pain Assist Inc. This article does not provide medical advice. See disclaimer
Last Modified On:August 30, 2019
Previous article
Next article

Recent Posts

Related Posts