What Are The Five Stages Of Parkinson’s Disease?

Doctors may identify Parkinson’s disease i.e., Parkinsonism based on the presence of a few specific recognizable symptoms. These are tremor or uncontrollable shaking, speaking difficulties and lacking brain coordination. However, each of the symptoms varies largely and may become worse with the progress of the problem.

Major symptoms associated with Parkinson’s disease are-

  • Tremors or uncontrollable shaking.
  • Slow physical movements or bradykinesia.
  • Difficulties in physical balance and eventually stand up problems.
  • Hands and limbs stiffness.

What Are The Five Stages of Parkinson’s Disease?

Most of the doctors involved in diagnose of Parkinson’s disease brain disorder rely on the rating given by Hoehn and Yahr scale for the classification of the severity associated with symptoms. This scale consists of five different stages intended mainly to highlight the progression of the respective disease and at the same time, helped doctors to evaluate the extent or advance of the disease.

Stage 1 of Parkinson’s Disease- Mildest Form of Disease

Stage 1 constitutes the mildest form of Parkinson’s disease. During the stage 1, the patients may experience symptoms, but the mild ones and do not any severe one to interrupt daily tasks or one’s lifestyle. In fact, symptoms during the first stage are so mild that both doctors and patients often missed.

However, the family members and the friends may observe changes in the way you walk, your body posture or your facial expressions. Tremors at a specific side of one’s body are the distinct symptom associated with stage 1 of Parkinson’s disease. In this case, the doctors give prescribed medicines, which work in an effective way to reduce the symptoms and allow individuals to lead a normal life.

Stage 2 of Parkinson’s Disease- Moderate Form of the Disease

Stage 2 implies the Parkinson’s disease in its moderate form and it has relatively higher noticeable symptoms than the ones take place in the previous stage. This means, tremors, stiffness and trembling problems become noticeable and changes in various facial expressions take place.

While stiffness of muscles prolong the completion of any task, stage 2 never cause balance impairment. Instead, the patients may deal with increased walking difficulties and witness changes in their postures. Another major fact about stage 2 of the problem is that during this stage 2, people feel symptoms on their both sides of the body along with speech difficulties to some extent.

Stage 3 of Parkinson’s Disease- Middle Stage of the Problem

Stage 3 indicates middle stage of the Parkinson’s disease, as it indicates a big turning point associated with progress of the disease. Despite, the symptoms in both stage 2 and stage 3 are more or less same; but in your third stage, you may likely experience reduced reflexes and loss of your physical balance. Overall, your body movements become slow. Because of this, the problem in its third stage affects people significantly, but still allows them to complete their daily tasks.

Stage 4 of Parkinson’s Disease- Physical Movements Require Assistive Devices

Independence of people separates when they enter to the stage 4 from the previous stage 3 of Parkinson’s disease. Although, a person in stage 4 of Parkinson’s disease may stand easily without any help; he requires assistive devices, especially a walker to go with physical movements without facing any difficulty.

Most of the people will not be able to live their lives alone during stage 4 of the Parkinson’s disease, as they deal with significant decrease in the physical movements and reaction times. According to doctors, keeping alone the patients of stage 4 Parkinson’s disease may not perform their day to day tasks.

Stage 5 of Parkinson’s Disease- Advanced Stage of the Problem

Stage 5 is the last and the advanced stage of the Parkinson’s disease. Advanced muscular stiffness in one’s legs may result in freezing problems, while a person stands and because of this, the patients neither be able to stand nor walk. Thus, the patients in stage 5 require wheelchairs, as they usually unable to stand on own. Moreover, such patients need a nurse to provide round-the-clock assistance to prevent any fall.

Also Read:

Team PainAssist
Team PainAssist
Written, Edited or Reviewed By: Team PainAssist, Pain Assist Inc. This article does not provide medical advice. See disclaimer
Last Modified On:January 4, 2018

Recent Posts

Related Posts