This article on Epainassist.com has been reviewed by a medical professional, as well as checked for facts, to assure the readers the best possible accuracy.

We follow a strict editorial policy and we have a zero-tolerance policy regarding any level of plagiarism. Our articles are resourced from reputable online pages. This article may contains scientific references. The numbers in the parentheses (1, 2, 3) are clickable links to peer-reviewed scientific papers.

The feedback link “Was this Article Helpful” on this page can be used to report content that is not accurate, up-to-date or questionable in any manner.

This article does not provide medical advice.


Can You Get Disability Benefits For Myofascial Pain Syndrome?

Myofascial pain syndrome is also known by other name, chronic myofascial pain. There is intense and chronic pain in myofascial trigger points and also in fascial constrictions in this syndrome. It doesn’t have any predominant site for occurrence so it can be seen in any body part.

Can You Get Disability Benefits For Myofascial Pain Syndrome?

The exact cause of this syndrome is not yet known. But some connective tissue disorders have tendency to cause myofascial pain syndrome. Either excess and repetitive use of any muscle or no use of the muscle also leads to myofascial pain syndrome. The pain is aching in type and is steady. The pain may be mild or very intense depending on the origin of the pain. (1)

Can You Get Disability Benefits For Myofascial Pain Syndrome?

Myofascial pain syndrome is a type of neurological disorder. There is dysfunction of autonomic, sensory as well as motor functioning in the body. This is a chronic disease and stays for lifetime as there is no cure for it. There is major impact on the life of people with myofascial pain syndrome because they have to suffer with severe pain and due to this their activity level is decreased and they loose the functional ability. There is also a great mental impact on such patients because they constantly have mood changes due to pain and their quality of life is also decreased.

According to the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment of Government of India, there are certain diseases that will be given disability benefits by the government. In this list there are total 21 diseases included. Amongst these 21 diseases, chronic neurological conditions are also included. Other disease in this list are- blindness, dwarfism, low-vision, mental illness, cerebral palsy, thalassemia, multiple sclerosis, sickle cell disease, acid attack victims, etc.

As myofascial pain syndrome is a type of neurological disorder and is chronic in nature, this disease has been given disability benefits.

People with disability are given special rights to live life like normal people. Benefits like reservation in government jobs, higher education, etc. is given so that the people with disabilities are treated equally like normal people. Funds are also provided for people with disabilities who are undergoing financial crisis. Funding is done at state as well as national level. Penalties have been assigned for people who commit offences against people with disabilities. Also, children with disability can have free education until they are in the age group of 6 to 18 years. The main aim of the disability benefits is that the people with disabilities must get their basic rights just like the normal people. (2)

Diagnosis Of Myofascial Pain Syndrome

The origin of pain in myofascial pain syndrome is from the muscles. The sensory, autonomic as well as the motor systems take part in production of symptoms of this disease. The pain is caused by certain trigger points. These trigger points can be identified via palpation and are felt as discrete areas of foci that are hypercontracted inside the muscles. These trigger points are two types active or latent. When the trigger point is palpated, this causes spontaneous elicitation of pain. The pain may also be referred and may show symptoms of autonomic or motor systems. Other signs and symptoms seen are muscle weakness, improper range of movements, and loss of coordination. This type of response is called as active.

Other type of pain is latent type. In this type, when the trigger point is compressed, there is presence of tenderness but the pain is not elicited spontaneously. Latent trigger points are also seen with the patient who first had active trigger points has undergone treatment.

These trigger points can be located by palpation. On palpation, when there is a firm or hard and hypersensitive nodular structure that elicits a painful response on application of pressure, that may be referred or local, this is the trigger point. Other tests like EMG (electromyography) can also be done to know the diagnosis. (3)


The government of India has added 21 diseases under the disability benefits. Amongst these 21 diseases there is inclusion of chronic neurological diseases too. Myofascial pain syndrome is a chronic disease and it is a type of neurological disease so it is technically included for disability benefits. So people with myofascial pain syndrome can apply for disability benefits.


Also Read:

Team PainAssist
Team PainAssist
Written, Edited or Reviewed By: Team PainAssist, Pain Assist Inc. This article does not provide medical advice. See disclaimer
Last Modified On:August 3, 2022

Recent Posts

Related Posts